PCB

Halogen-free PCB Reliability Test and Failure Analysis

Printed Circuit Board

The Printed Circuit Board (PCB or PWB) is the base of electronic products. A PCB integrates and connects various electronic components to form a product assembly.

PCB has a history of several decades. In the recent trend of miniature and light-weight electronic products added with promotion of lead-free processes, the assembling temperature of either reflow soldering or wave soldering gets higher, therefore the potential influence resulting from the additional thermal stress against the tranditional PCB becomes worse, hence product defects attributed to PCBs also worsen when compared to that before the transfer to lead-free processes. Although material suppliers developed high Tg substrate or improved hardening agents to overcome the thermal stress issue, other problems occurred, e.g., reduced Bond Pad Strength, poor hole-drilling quality, and Conductive Anode Filament (CAF) effect. Therefore PCB Reliability Test once more becomes highly focused.

Apart from the issue of lead-free application, international non-government organizations (NGO) actively promote Halogen Free processes. Meeting requirements of lead-free processes and Halogen limitations, DEKRA has developed a reliability test addressing properties of PCB materials to assist customers in obtaining certificate of preliminary product reliability tests or product sampling analyses.

  • Temperature Cycling Test and Dynamic Low-Resistance Measurement
  • Wet/dry Thermal Shock Tests
  • Electrochemical Migration Test
  • Copper Trace Tension Test and solder pad bond strength test
  • Simulation of Heat Resistance Dynamic thermal oil test
  • CTE and Tg Measurement
  • Bending Test
  • Mechanical Shock Test
  • Failure Analysis

In the past, cross-sectioning is the major resort for the failure analysis of PCBs. When products get thinner and smaller and high-end multi-layer configuration becomes the mainstream, a failure analysis that only relies on cross-sectioning is no longer adequate. In addition, due to lengthy procedures in the PCB production, disputes continued endlessly, arguing whether user-end failures derived from the assembly process or resulted from PCB raw materials.

We apply advanced technologies for analyzing PCB products, such as Focused Ion Beam (FIB) for analyzing micro structures, preventing micro problems from being blurred by the ductile copper material in PCB cross-section process. Auger Electron Spectroscopy (Auger) is used for analyzing existence of trace substances, assisting the customer finding root causes of product defects, it is especially effective for surface analyses. Scanning Electron Microscopy and Energy Dispersive Spectrometer (SEM/EDS) are effective tools for verifying Black Pad causes, minimizing production and assembly risks, and clarifying early failure issues. In addition, equipment including Thermal Mechanical Analyzer (TMA), Atomic Force Microscope (AFM), is very helpful to PCB analyses.

We provide high-tech equipment for carrying out analyses, and expert consultations assisting customers to clarify application problems and implement product improvement solutions. With comprehensive field experiences, we provides customers with various consultation services.

In mid 2009, International Patent Classification (IPC) announced a new verification method 2.6.27 “Thermal Stress, Convection Reflow Assembly Simulation”, which appeared to replace the traditional one - Thermal stress T288. This has been a good news to end users of system, but an extended mishap to PCB suppliers, meaning their products are to face more harsh challenges.

Before the lead free issue in PCBA applications can be fully overcome, international organizations actively begin to promote application development of halogen free PCBs to cope with environmental requirements. This is a further mishap to the PCB industry. PCB attributes enabled evasion of total halogen control issues in the last transfer of RoHS; however the current appeal for halogen free has created more obvious impacts to the industry.

For necessary changes of material properties that cope with the transfer, main problems in halogen free PCBs include hardening and crisping effects, reduced bonding force of copper foil that leads to reduced pad bond strength, pool quality of drill holes due to material hardening, and an increase of wick effects. These problems lead to reduced time of Conductive Anode Filament (CAF), high-frequency instability and Pad Cratering, therefore the design of verification has to make different considerations than the traditional ones, test vehicles must be designed to facilitate product verification. For overcoming Pad Cratering and the Pad bonding strength issue, SMD design overrides NSMD design, which is a totally different approach from the conventional PCB design. Also, PTH pitch and arrangement are key considerations for slowing down the happening of Conductive Anodic Filaments (CAF).

We have developed verification methods for halogen free PCBs, including design of test vehicles, which may be of help to the customer in carrying out preliminary verification of product durability or sampling analysis, assisting the customer to enter into mass production smoothly.

Contact us

Share page

PCB

無鹵PCB板可靠度與故障分析

印刷電路板

印刷電路板( Printed Circuit Board,或稱爲Printed Wiring Board)爲電子産品之母,藉由PCB,將各種電子零件予以結合導通,完成系統成品組合。

PCB之發展已數十年,然近年來,因終端産品日趨輕薄短小,加上電子組裝導入無鉛制程生産( Lead Free Process)後,不但回焊( Reflow Soldering)與波焊( Wave Soldering)組裝溫度提高,而且所增加的熱應力對傳統PCB潛在的影響更深遠,故PCB所導致産品失效( Defect)的案例,也較轉換無鉛制程前更爲嚴重。雖然許多材料供貨商爲克服熱應力( Thermal Stress)問題而開發出了high Tg基材或改善填充劑( Filler)種類,卻因而衍生出許多其他問題,如焊墊強度( Bond Pad Strength)降低、鑽孔質量不佳以及陽極細絲導通( Conductive Anode Filament,簡稱CAF)等狀況。因此PCB的可靠度(或稱信賴性,Reliability)試驗,再度受到高度重視。

繼無鉛應用上的問題外,目前各國際組織( NGO)亦積極推動産品無鹵化( Halogen Free)。在必須符合無鉛制程需求且達到無鹵素含量要求,DEKRA德凱開發出一套針對PC板材料特性進行可靠度驗證方法,可協助客戶産品進行先期可靠度承認或産品固定抽樣分析。

  • 溫度循環及動態低阻試驗
  • 濕式與幹式溫度衝擊試驗
  • 離子遷移試驗
  • 焊墊結合強度試驗
  • 耐熱模擬試驗
  • 動態熱油試驗
  • CTE與Tg量測
  • 彎曲試驗
  • 機械衝擊試驗
  • 故障分析

PCB失效分析的技術過往多仰賴研磨(Cross-section),但由于産品越趨于輕薄短小以及高層數板的架構已成主流,在分析手法上單純仰賴研磨技 術並不足夠。此外由于PCB制程攏冗長,多數在客戶端使用後衍生的問題點究竟是屬于組裝問題或者PCB原材問題,期間的爭議,從未停止過。

本 公司將先進科技應用方法帶入PCB的分析使用之上,包括使用聚焦離子束(FIB、Focus Iron Ion Beam),進行微結構的分析,可避免因研磨過程産生銅的延展性,造成無法清楚澄清微小問題所在;歐傑電子(Auger),用以分析微量物質存在狀況,協 助客戶找出産品不良的真因,尤其對于表面處理更有效益;電子顯微鏡與元素分析儀(SEM/EDS),是檢驗黑墊(Black Pad)生成的有效工具,降低生産組裝風險與早夭問題澄清等。此外,包括熱應力分析儀(TMA)、原子力顯微鏡(AFM)等,對于PCB分析上亦有許多助 益。

本公司除提供高科技設備進行分析外,更提供專人谘詢,可協助了解客戶使用上的問題澄清,PCB産品改善方案等,均有相當多的實際處理經驗,提供客戶不同的服務咨詢。

國際IPC組織于2009年中公布了新的驗證辦法Method 2.6.27 “Thermal Stress, Convection Reflow Assembly Simulation”,似有欲取代傳統的Thermal stress T288作法。此案一出,對于系統端使用者來說是一項福音,但對于PCB供貨商來還說,卻是雪上加霜,且其對産品的挑戰將更爲嚴苛。

在 PCBA無鉛應用上的問題尚無法達致完滿時,爲因應環保需求,各國際組織又積極推動無鹵素(Halogen Free) PCB開發應用,對此産業來說,衝擊不小。PCB屬性可以在上一波的RoHS轉換中避過鹵素總量管制的問題,此次無鹵素化對于該産業已形成一個更爲明顯的 衝擊。

對于轉型所必須因應的材料特性改變,無鹵素PCB的潛在問題包括了材質變硬變脆、銅箔結合力降低導致焊墊強度 (Pad Bond Strength) 降低、材質變硬導致鑽孔質量不佳、燈芯效應增強,以致陽極性玻纖束漏電(Conductive Anode Filament,簡稱CAF)發生時間減短、高頻特性不穩定、彈坑效應(Pad Cratering)...等狀況,因此在設計驗證的考慮上與以往傳統的做法有所不同,需要設計Test Vehicle幫助産品驗證。設計的考慮上爲了克服彈坑效應以及Pad結合強度問題,使用SMD design將優于NSMD design,此對于過往的PCB設計上有不同的做法。PTH Pitch與排列亦爲一重要之考慮點,目的在降低CAF發生的速度。

目前本公司已開發出一套針對無鹵素PCB特性之驗證方法(包括協助Test Vehicle之設計),可協助客戶産品進行先期可靠度承認或産品固定抽樣分析,協助客戶能夠順利導入産品量産。

聯繫我們

分享頁面